Never Mind, Adele

by Hand Up

So Adele is with child?

I am sure that she and boyfriend, Simon Konecki, are very happy about this.  I am sure because that was what her press release said.

I have no quarrel with Adele’s success and admire her talent, but for God’s sake, that woman is depressed and angry!  Many artists sing of heartache and misery, but she has taken it to another level.

And it isn’t just that she has failed in love; there’s a strong sense I get that she is doomed to fail at love and that she has absolutely no clue as to why it keeps happening.

I only know her from what she sings, so she may well be presenting a false persona.  But for what it’s worth, I can’t help but notice that the persona she presents is miserable, self-centered and completely clueless.  Maybe she’s a loser-magnet.  Or maybe she’s a monster.

Have you ever broken up with someone and, as soon as you said it aloud, their response confirmed your decision?  When he or she made some idiotic immature retort that was full of loathing and totally absent of compassion, you knew that you were right?

Adele is the other person in that horrible relationship.  Her lyrics sing it, and her non-singing communication is often loud, brassy and vulgar.  Flipping off the camera and cussing to the masses are the actions of a drunk or an insufferable ass.  In her case, maybe both.

Anyway, let’s hope that this precious life that she is bringing into the world, and into her world, isn’t severely harmed by mom.  I don’t hold out much hope, however.  All day, I’ve been thinking about that scene about 19 years from now when Adele’s child leaves the nest and Adele lays on the guilt trip:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLQl3WQQoQ0

“Never mind, I’ll find someone like you.

I wish nothing but the best for you, too.

Don’t forget me, I beg….”